top of page

Here, but Not Yet


June 24, 2021


“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” -Hebrews 11:1


As I write, I am heavy with child, greatly desiring the day which I know will come but I don’t know when: the day that my husband and I meet our daughter face-to-face. My due date is now three weeks away, but only about 5 percent of babies are born exactly on their due date. My daughter could be born two weeks from now, she could be born one week from now, or she might not make her appearance for another four weeks.


I find myself waiting for something I cannot see. All of the signs are there. I feel the kicks frequently, I waddle like a duck, I become lightheaded if I even shift my body the wrong way, and of course my bump is undeniable. Although I have never seen my child with my own eyes, touched her delicate skin, or smelled the top of her head, her presence within me is so real and her coming is certain to me. I know this to be true on account of the knowledge provided by modern science combined with anecdotal evidence from all of the women throughout history who have undergone this same experience. But I also have my own current experiences to encourage me that the end is near. The signs and symptoms are all here, and the status quo is not sustainable. A woman cannot live like this long term. If my belly were to continue growing for many months longer, it would practically explode. Something has to give. A change must take place, and sooner rather than later.


So it is with our faith. By faith, we know that Christ is alive within us (Ephesians 3:17). We cannot see Him, yet His presence is undeniable. The presence of the Holy Spirit is experienced in prayer, in worship, in fellowship with other believers, and even in suffering. When we feel weak, we experience His prayers welling up within us “with groanings too deep for words” (Romans 8:26). Our hearts are filled with inexplicable joy when we worship. We have a unity with other Christians that is unlike any other human relationship. We are filled with hope when we suffer, strengthened to endure long past the point at which we would have given up had we been suffering alone. Like a pregnant mother, we know through our own experiences that Christ lives within us even though we cannot see Him face-to-face.


We dwell in the “here but not yet” stage of eternity. While we have the Holy Spirit, we long to meet our Savior in person, to feel His scarred hands, and to behold Him in His radiance. Like the science textbook provides written evidence of coming childbirth, we are promised in God’s Word that our faith will come to fruition and Jesus will return. Jesus Himself tells us, “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father's house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also” (John 14:1-3) and “Behold, I am coming soon” (Revelation 22:12a). We have evidence in God’s Word that Jesus will return in a very real, experiential way, and that this will happen sooner rather than later.


But we also know these things on account of our own personal experiences in the “here but not yet.” This world is difficult and suffering is very real. We feel heavy, burdened, and we often grow faint. The burden of this present life is not sustainable. Something must give. For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies” (Romans 8:22-23). In this sense, even suffering itself gives us assurance that our faith is not in vain!


Holy Spirit, we are heavy and tired by the burdens of this life. Encourage us with Your real, experiential presence with us, and give us full confidence that this faith we have will come to fruition. The rebirth of creation is near! In the Name of our living hope, Jesus Christ, Amen.




bottom of page